New Years Resolution– All About Health

Here I am blogging once again after midnight but this idea has been floating around in my noggin for a while now. New Years is around the corner and everyone is talking about their resolutions. Top 5 resolutions I’ve heard are losing weight, saving money, losing weight, quit drinking/smoking, and eating out less (to lose weight). I see a trend.

I have to admit I would like to lose some weight but that is not my priority this year. Weight is just a number. While it does matter its more important to see how healthy I am. I can weigh 100 pounds but if I’m having a Big Mac everyday and consider cleaning the snow off my car as adequate exercise I’ll still have problems. During my years in nursing school I have finally understood the importance of a healthy diet, lifestyle, and mental health. I’ve also first hand witnessed why its so important with every patient I’ve had including myself.

So my New Years resolution is to BE HEALTHY.

Being Healthy- My definition:

  • Not eating out more than once every 2 weeks. 
  • Eating healthy portioned meals
  • No frozen meals, minimal canned items, and healthy bread
  • More veggies & less meat
  • Getting regular check-ups
  • Cleansing my system out— I explain how I do this further down.
  • Exercising- gym or home workouts 2-3 times a week for 30 minutes each time
  • Cutting down on pop and drinking more water
  • Getting sleep of 7-8 hours every night- within 1-2 hours of a set bed time.
  • De-stressing — yoga, calm time alone, reading, etc
  • Preventive & holistic treatment methods

I plan to make gradual changes. If I honestly decided that starting 1st of January I need to start doing all of this, I will have failed on one or all of these counts by the end of the week. We are creatures of habit, changes need to be brought in gradually and one or two things at a time. That doesn’t mean I can’t make conscious decisions to try and grab water before I grab that coke can right away. I just don’t want to cold turkey everything because I will be setting myself up for failure.

Health has different meanings to different people. It is a level of functioning based on mind and body. I want to be healthy enough  to have controlled blood reports of anemia and amongst other things. I want to be healthy enough to run without my asthma interfering. I want to be healthy enough to feel good about my body inside and out. I want to be healthy enough mentally to face and concur my problems without it taking a toll of me. I want to be healthy.

One of the things I have started already is trying to get back into the habit of juicing to cleanse out my system, be nutritious, and heal my body. My favorite juice recipe is The Mean Green from the Joe Cross’s documentary movie Dead, Sick, and Nearly Dead. If you haven’t watched this I would highly recommend it. Its available on Netflix and Hulu. As gross as it looks and sounds the juice actually tastes pretty okay.

The recipe for the Mean Green Juice is:

  1. 1 bulk of Kale
  2. 4 stalks of Celery
  3. 1 Cucumber
  4. 2 Granny Smith Apples
  5. 1/2 Lemon
  6. Ginger Root (approx 1 inch)

Below I have pictures the ingredients and what the juice looks like. The 3rd juice picture is another recipe I like (super yummy) of Spinach and Mango’s.

PhotoGrid_1355883095380
Herb order
To have a healthier juicing experience I like adding flax seeds in my juice but I’ve had trouble with the whole seeds I have. So I went bought some flax seed oil and a few extra health items on iherb.com. In my house we try to use more natural and holistic methods to prevent and treat any minor problems. So I pre bought some cough syrup with zinc because at one point some one in my house is going to need it. I also got natural ear drops since I get ear aches easily and Chicago’s cold weather takes a toll. Then I got some yummy apricots for myself and tore into the bag before I could picture it as a healthy snack.

If you haven’t heard of iherb (I am little addicted to that website) it offers supplements & healthy products (food, beauty & cleaning) at a low price.

Iherb has a discount code for first time users. My referral code for the discount is RIM717 which gives a discount of $10 off 40 or more purchase and free shipping. Or $5 off orders of less than $40.

These are the small steps I have taken in a effort to be healthier. There are so many small details that will make a difference. This week I have yet to go to bed without taking off my make-up and moisturizing. My first small step in having healthy skin.

What do you do to be healthy? Do have any new years resolutions? Want more juicing recipes? Want to learn about the health benefits in details for something, let me know.

Leave a Reply

