War against colds with sage tea

It’s that time of year people, and no I’m not talking about Halloween but the dreaded cold and flu season. Flu shot stickers are being smacked on everything you buy and even my itty bitty pumpkin was not spared. As a nurse i’m very much about prevention but sometimes colds have a nasty way of sneaking up on a person. In my case it’s in the form of my 5 year old neighbor who does sneak attacks of trying to cough or sneeze on me so I can be sick along with him. Kids.

I love medicine, I do. But sometimes its nice to find ways without pumping my body with drugs that don’t allow me to operate heavy machinery. This is where sage leaves come into play, did you know they have been used for centuries for various ailments.

Sage leaves are: anti-inflammatory, antibacterial, antimicrobial, and an antioxidant. That overachiever.

So when symptoms appear for a cold or flu such as a scratchy throat, sore throat, runny nose, or cough I pull out a few leaves. It can be used when symptoms appear or when you are battling a full on war.

Preparation: A cup of boiling water with a few leaves of fresh or dried sage leaves. Steep for 2-5 minutes. Strain and serve.

I’ve read about gargling with sage water— just make sure its not hot!

I bought a plant of sage at my local farmers market for $2 that has helped make plenty of cups of tea for me or my family members so far. If you can’t find a fresh plant or don’t have fresh sage available, you can pick up dried sage at most grocery stores.

Warning: Do not take sage tea more than 3 times a day or longer than 2 weeks continuously. Also always check with your doctor before starting any herbal remedies.

Fight back against these nasty little buggers– the natural way!

Leave a Reply

